Sometimes the solution is the problem

One of the toughest things about technology is getting the fearful on board.  If you imagine a neophyte skateboarder or skier or diver trying over and over to perfect a move, you know that sense of persistence and resilience.  Somehow, though, that diligence to learn doesn’t always translate to Technology.  The frustrated doesn’t keep bashing away at it until the solution presents itself.  In today’s tale, the solution was part of the problem in that it presented itself too easily.

I was struggling with the app we use for storage– called OwnCloud, and it’s a robust little number that provides an opportunity for our single-use devices to become multi-user, and is FOIPPA compliant. on one of my first classroom visits, I attempted to show the students how to save their work. Everything was working as it should….except the uploaded file had Zero material.  Rather like going to a library, and just being able to check out the cover of the book.

I went to my nerdlings right away and explained the problem.  There were so many layers of potential problem, we couldn’t decide whether the issue was with OwnCloud, the other apps, the devices or the server.  I started to dig into it, and while I could replicate the problem, I couldn’t find a solution.  R popped into my office to see if we could figure it out.  He opened up the same apps that I was using, and uploaded a document.  Successfully.  All of its bits intact. “Well, what the heck?” I said (though, let’s be honest….it might not have been that G-Rated). No matter what, we couldn’t replicate the issue on his identical device.

Over the weekend, I continued to look for an answer.  I used another iPad. Same problem. Searched the discussion forums some more and finally, after several days of frustration, a couple of volatile conversations, and poring over the help files, I finally found it…. OwnCloud had discovered this problem shortly after I did, and had fixed and released a new version. Shortly before R downloaded it to test.  Over the course of a week, the problem arose, the fix was created and a solution provided. If I had been a little less persistent in trying to find the answer, I might actually have been better off. On the other hand, I might also never have realized that I wasn’t the problem, I just hadn’t recognized the solution when I saw it.

Leave a comment